<![CDATA[Play Cricket in Hong Kong at the Kowloon Cricket Club (KCC) - Under-11 League]]>Mon, 29 Feb 2016 15:46:06 -0800Weebly<![CDATA[2010-11 HKCA Under-11 League to start on 13th November]]>Wed, 03 Nov 2010 02:01:22 GMThttp://www.kcccricket.com/under-11-league/2010-11-hkca-under-11-league-to-start-on-13th-novemberThe HKCA has released fixtures for the 2010-11 HKCA Under-11 League, with the first round of matches starting on 13th November. The 14 team competition will involve two pools of seven teams playing round-robin matches. The top two teams from each pool will then contest the semi-finals and final, scheduled to be played on 8th January 2011.

KCC will field one team in the Under-11 League, to be called the KCC Komodos.]]>
<![CDATA[KCC Under-11 Cricketer of the Year 2009-10 - RYAN ROLLASON]]>Fri, 30 Jul 2010 05:11:47 GMThttp://www.kcccricket.com/under-11-league/kcc-under-11-cricketer-of-the-year-2009-10-ryan-rollason
COC Simon Scanlon presents Ryan Rollason with his trophy
<![CDATA[KCC Tartars win U11 Plate and KCC Saracens win U11 Bowl]]>Tue, 01 Jun 2010 07:00:00 GMThttp://www.kcccricket.com/under-11-league/kcc-tartars-win-u11-plate-and-kcc-saracens-win-u11-bowlPicture
Plate Winners - KCC Tartars at Kai Tak Cricket Ground
Hong Kong Under-11 League took place at the end 2009-10 season, with only two teams from KCC this year – Saracens and Tartars. Both teams had a good mix of senior and junior players. Apurv Sharma led the Tartars and Ansh Lulla the Saracens. It was a rainy and windy morning on 15 May 2010, when both our teams faced some tough competition during the league matches.

Tartars played well in Pool A starting against HKCC Sharks, scoring a fighting 99/7 with useful innings from Vasuki (12), Sid (9) and Apurv (9) against some tough bowling. They also bowled well to take 4 wickets (Apurv 2/20) coming close to an upset victory against the last years’ Cup winners. The team raised their game in the next match scoring 148/2 against the JCA Monkeys. Apurv (23*) and Nikhil (22*) hit quite a few boundaries while Sid (13) held the innings together. In reply, Monkeys fought well but could score only 84/7, thus Tartars won by 64 runs. Apurv led the team well, and also took 3 wickets conceding only 4 runs in his allotted 3 overs.

Saracens also played well in Pool B but lost both their matches very closely. In the first match, they restricted HKCC Cobras to a modest total of 93/7 with Ryan and Tejas picking up 2 wickets each. However they could manage only 58/6 against some tough bowling and lost by 35 runs. In the second match, Saracens batted first and scored a handsome 121/7 with good contributions from Ansh (20) and Dylan (22), but LSW tigers managed to overtake this total with 3 wickets to spare. Ansh contributed with the ball as well, picking up 3 wickets for 20 runs.

Based on their performance in the league matches, Saracens entered the Bowl and Tartars the Plate championship respectively. The semifinal and final matches took place on 22 May 2010, with the weather much better than the league matches, overcast but no rain or strong wind. Both our teams learned from their mistakes during the league stage, bowling and fielding much better to restrict the number of byes, wide balls, and overthrows. They also batted quite well.

Playing for the Bowl, Saracens beat HKCC Dragons in a one-sided semifinal, scoring 114/1 (Ansh 22*, Adrian 21*, and Ryan 18*) and beating Dragons (38/7, Adrian 3-11) by 66 runs. They did even better in the final, scoring 186/2 with their batsmen feasting on some ordinary bowling (Dylan 45*, Ansh 25*, Tejas 26*, and Adrian 25*) to beat Cheetahs (57/7, Ansh 2-13), Tejas 2-19, Adrain 1-17, Ryan 1-6) by 129 runs, becoming the Bowl champions for 2009-10.

Tartars also began their semifinal in the Plate championship in style, scoring 154/1 against the LSW Experts. Apurv (29*) and Nikhil (25*) led the innings again, both of them hitting 3 sixes each, with useful contributions from Sid (15) and Vrithik (12). In reply, Experts fought well to reach 121/5, but some good bowling led by Nikhil (2-16) helped Tartars win by 33 runs. The final turned out to be an anti-climax, with Tartars bowling out of their skin to restrict a strong HKAC team to 64/7 (Nikhil 2-14, Vasuki 3-12, Vrithik 2-30). With the Plate championship in sight, the junior players were given a chance to bat (Vrithik 18, Hardik 8) and Tartars won easily in the end scoring 68/2 with 7 overs to spare. It was a deserving victory for the Tartars who were led well by the captain Apurv with strong support from all the senior players (Nikhil, Sid and Vasuki) and a lot of commitment from all the junior players (Jay, Hardik, Raul, and Vrithik).

Well done all the boys, keep it up!!! A big thank you to all the parents for your support – Chandru Balani, Poonam Mirchandani, Raju Ganglani, Trupti Mhatre, Ravi Lulla, Martin Rollason and everyone else…

- Dr. Piyush Sharma (Manager, KCC Tartars)

UPDATE: Trophies and medals were presented to team representatives at the HKCA Annual Awards Dinner held at HKCC on 19th June 2010.