<![CDATA[Play Cricket in Hong Kong at the Kowloon Cricket Club (KCC) - Other Cricket]]>Thu, 03 Mar 2016 18:43:11 +0800Weebly<![CDATA[Hong Kong claim ICC WCL Division 3 crown]]>Sun, 30 Jan 2011 08:00:00 GMThttp://www.kcccricket.com/other-cricket/hong-kong-claim-icc-wcl-division-3-crownPicture
Hosts Hong Kong overcame a poor start to win the ICC World Cricket League Division 3 tournament played from 22-29 January 2011. The six-team tournament also featured teams from PNG, Denmark, USA, Italy and Oman.

Hong Kong lost it's opening two games to USA and Oman but came back strongly to defeat Denmark, Italy and PNG on consecutive days. 

Hong Kong and PNG made it through to the final, played at KCC, where Hong Kong prevailed by 4 wickets thanks to a timely 70 not out from 16 year-old Mark Chapman.

Related link - ICC World Cricket League Division 3 Hong Kong 2011

By reaching the final, both Hong Kong and PNG gain promotion to Division 2 and will play in a tournament in Dubai during April 2011. A top four finish in that tournament will secure a place in the next ICC World Cup Qualifier.

<![CDATA[Photo Gallery - Robbie Lee Trophy 2010]]>Sun, 03 Oct 2010 15:50:03 GMThttp://www.kcccricket.com/other-cricket/photo-gallery-robbie-lee-trophy-2010Picture
Check out all the photos from the annual Robbie Lee Trophy match played between KCC and CCC at Kowloon Cricket Club on Friday, 1st October 2010

<![CDATA[Robbie Lee Trophy - 1st October 2010]]>Fri, 01 Oct 2010 02:25:24 GMThttp://www.kcccricket.com/other-cricket/robbie-lee-trophy-1st-october-2010The annual Robbie Lee Trophy fixture between KCC and CCC will be played at KCC on 1st October 2010. The KCC team for the match is:
  • Shiroy Vachha
  • Jim Gough
  • Jon McKinley
  • Mike Trayford
  • Matt Wake
  • David Brettell
  • Burji Shroff
  • Ray Brewster
  • Paul Varty
  • Darrell Sellers
  • John Higginson
Players will meet at KCC at 12:30PM for the traditional round of Pimms.]]>
<![CDATA[KCC reach Quaid-e-Azam Trophy semi-finals]]>Sat, 05 Jun 2010 11:18:27 GMThttp://www.kcccricket.com/other-cricket/kcc-reach-quaid-e-azam-trophy-semi-finalsPicture
Click to see more photos
KCC reached the semi-final of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2010 after scoring convincing victories over HKCC and the China National team during pool play at Mission Road on 29th May 2010. However the team failed to win any of the HK$50,000 prize money after falling to LSWCC in their semi-final clash played on 30th May.

Rain interrupted play during the first match against China in which KCC scored 150-9 from 17.3 overs with Kinchit Shah hitting 47 and Afzaal Haider 34. In reply, China was set a target of 146 off 17 overs, but Afzaal knocked the top off the Chinese batting order and Waqar Dawood wrapped up the tail claiming 5-9 as China was dismissed for just 44.

In the second match, HKCC had no answer to the KCC bowling attack and they could only must 43 as Imran Farcy picked up 4-7 and Waqar Dawood 3-0. Peter Wooden hit an unbeaten 31 as KCC wrapped up the match in less than 5 overs.

KCC bowlers couldn't repeat their effort on Sunday as LSWCC knocked up 155 runs in their 20 overs, with Tabarak Dar scoring an impressive 78. in reply, the early loss of Peter Wooden dealt a crippling blow from which KCC never recovered. Dwight Johnson grabbed 3-15 and Munir Dar claimed 3-11 as KCC was dismissed for 79 in 17.5 overs.

Despite atrocious weather conditions that would have seen played called off in most other games, PACC and LSWCC played out an entertaining final. LSWC batted first after winning the toss and they managed to score 145-8 from heir 20 overs with Haseeb Amjad top scoring with an unbeaten 34. Despite a cautious start, PACC made light work of the chase as Hong Kong skipper Najeeb Amar hit 53 and Hussain Butt 33. PACC reached their winning target in 17.4 overs to claim the winner's purse of HK$25,000. 

LSWCC's Nizakat Khan claimed the best batsman of the tournament while team-mate Munir Dar picked up the bowler of the tournament. But there was little to separate the two top all-rounders of the tournament as PACC's Najeeb Amar and Muhammad Imran shared the the Player of the Tournament prize. All four players received a cash prize of HK$2,500 for their efforts.

Check out all the photos from the tournament here -> http://tjpittman.smugmug.com/Cricket/Quaid-e-Azam-Trophy-2010 

<![CDATA[KCC v. Stragglers of Asia]]>Mon, 24 May 2010 04:35:15 GMThttp://www.kcccricket.com/other-cricket/stragglers-of-asiaKCC were beaten by six wickets in a friendly match against the 'Stragglers of Asia' on Saturday, 22nd May 2010.

Excessively humid, threatening conditions made for an uncomfortable match for all, but despite a couple of brief interruptions for rain, the match was played to a conclusion.

KCC batted first but could only muster 200-9 from their 40 overs. Star for KCC team was former Hong Kong Hockey International Farooq Syed, who bludgeoned an excellent unbeaten century.

The Stragglers team comprised a number of players from HKCC and Lamma plus former England test captain Mike Gatting. Gatting stroked an effortless cover drive to the boundary from the first ball he faced but he was unable to add to his score before being bowled by Ateeq Rehmen. Former KCC champ Mark Eames (now playing for HKCC) stroked an excellent 90-odd not out as the Stragglers reached their victory target in the 34th over for the loss of four wickets. ]]>